Ragamuffin leading (once more) the BWPS


The last and defining race of the Blue Water Point Score and the Tasman Series for the PHS trophy is the Audi Sydney Offshore Newcastle Yacht Race, starting on March 19, which will decide the winners of both trophies.

Should Syd Fischer win it again, it will be a record 10th BWPS triumph for the decorated veteran who will turn 83 in early March.

Geoff Ross of Yendys: ‘It’s going to come right down to the final race in March. I think the points will be even more compacted at the end of this race’.

The final race will be a thriller. Six points separate the top six following this race. Ragamuffin has taken the overall lead of the BWPS on 15 points, one point ahead of Quest (16), with AFR Midnight Rambler (Ed Psaltis and Bob Thomas) which was at the top of the leaderboard coming into to the race, now third placed (17) after finishing fifth overall today. Behind them are Yendys (18), Loki (19) and Anthony Paterson’s Ker 11.3, Tow Truck (21), from Lake Macquarie.

For full results go to:

Series Results [BWPS (IRC) Prov.] for Division 1 up to Race 6 (Drops = 1)
        Boat Name         Skipper       Sers Score  R6    R5    R4    R3    R2    R1
1       Ragamuffin     Syd Fischer        15.0      3.0    6.0    4.0   1.0G  1.0   [13.0]
2       Quest              Bob Steel           16.0      4.0    7.0    1.0   1.0G  3.0   [24.0#]
3  Midnight Rambler Psaltis/Thomas 17.0      5.0    5.0    4.0V  2.0   [7.0]  1.0
4       Yendys            Geoff Ross        18.0      2.0    8.0    3.0    1.0G  4.0   [9.0]
5        Loki          Stephen Ainsworth  19.0      1.0   13.0   2.0    1.0     2.0   [14.0]

Syd Fischer’s TP52 Ragamuffin, leading the Bluewater Point Score series.
Andrea Francolini ©